Research suggests that upto 6% of the world is sensitive to gluten. Over 40% of youngsters are switching to non-alcoholic beer. Enter: NA Gluten-free Lager.

gluten-free lagers

With most people wanting to improve their lifestyle, NA beer, or near-beer, is gaining popularity. Why? The health benefits of NA beer include:

Because of electrolyte replenishment, thanks to the yeast, hops, and other minerals.

  • Pregnant Women:

Enjoy your near-beer guilt-free because non alcoholic beer will not harm your baby.

  • Better Sleep:

No alcohol to disturb your sleep.

Alcohol is notoriously known for increasing anxiety. NA beer saves you from that trap.

  • No/ Low Calories:

Most Non-alcoholic beers have either 0 or very low calories.

  • No Hangovers:

Unlike alcohol, you don't get high on NA beer, therefore saving you from hangovers.

  • No issues with cops:

Drunk driving is a major problem in most cities. With NA beer, you aren't a threat to yourself or others.

There are two main styles of beer. Although each has its sub-styles, for this post, we'll focus just on ale and lager.


One of the oldest beer styles, the ale has a shorter fermentation period, and brewers use top-fermenting yeasts to make Ale beers.


Lagers are relatively new. They're fermented longer, and brewers use bottom-fermenting yeasts to make this complexly flavoured beer.

Now you have a basic understanding of how yeast can contribute to different complexities in the taste of the drink you cherish so much.

Because most brewers use malted wheat or barley to make beer, people sensitive to gluten would have problems consuming the golden elixir.

This is where the gluten-free beers or most readily available gluten-free lagers come in.

While non-alcoholic beer has a specific process to remove the alcohol content in the beer, it doesn't ensure your beer is gluten-free. This is why you need to look for both tags while purchasing your NA beer.

There are two ways expert brewers make your favourite gluten-free non-alcoholic beer:

Use Gluten-free Grains

Brewers use the following grains to make gluten-free lagers.

  • Corn

  • Sorghum

  • Rice

  • quinoa

It takes expertise to get the taste to be as complex and palatable as beer. That way, it reminds consumers of the infamous "beer" taste even in the gluten-free variant.

Use Gluten-Damaging Treatments

Brewers use an enzyme, Brewers Clarex, to beer made using grains rich in gluten. This enzyme breaks down gluten strands. It also helps prevent the haze created when beer is chilled. Less than 20 PPM (parts per million) is considered "gluten-free" in the UK and the US.

So, when are you grabbing that non-alcoholic gluten-free lager?

Author's Bio: 

I am Eric Desuza a pro-level blogger with 5 years of experience in writing for multiple industries. I have extensive knowledge of Food, Fitness, Healthcare, business, fashion, and many other popular niches. I have post graduated in arts and have a keen interest in traveling.